The metal fire still proudly burns within

Since their 2009 reformation with new singer Mark Tornillo, German metal meisters Accept have been rolling along like a well oiled machine,  playing all the classics, touring the world and delivering new material that proudly stands up against their past efforts.

Eight years into that tenure, Accept just released their fourth effort with Tornillo (their 15th studio album overall) entitled The Rise of Chaos.

Consistency is the key throughout The Rise of Chaos, the tracks are heavy and hard rocking with killer production from Andy Sneap. They don’t really deviate from their previous musical formulas, but that’s not a bad thing as it’s a case of if it’s not broken, don’t fix it – plain and simple.

Let’s face it, if you listen to Accept, you want heavy and fast, right? Well, they push the pedal right down to the floor in ‘No Regrets’, ‘Race to Extinction’ and ‘Carry the Weight’ where there is a plethora of double bass and Wolf Hoffmann’s blazing solos on show for your listening pleasure and there are plenty of mid tempo groovers interspersed throughout such as the title track itself The Rise of Chaos, ‘Hole in the Head’ which has quite a Megadeth vibe and the anthemic duo of ‘What’s Done is Done’ and ‘Worlds Colliding’.

The mid 80’s AC/DC-like ‘Koolaid’ and the technology-taking-over-the- world missive ‘Analog Man’ are a bit middling, primary lyrically, but that doesn’t detract from the musical impact. However, the dialup modem noise at the end of ‘Analog Man’ should provide some memories and a chuckle for those who can remember that!

Having been around as long as they have, Accept have earned their standings within metal’s history books and really have nothing to prove, but within The Rise of Chaos they show the metal fire still proudly burns within and they still have plenty of gas left in the tank with an abundance of solid, hard rocking metal that will please fans both old and new.

1. Die By the Sword
2. Hole in the Head
3. The Rise of Chaos
4. Koolaid
5. No Regrets
6. Analog Man
7. What’s Done is Done
8. Worlds Colliding
9. Carry the Weight
10. Race to Extinction