AC/DC delivers the goods as usual

It would be easy to see this live statement as a quick cash grab ahead of the Christmas season if it weren’t for the fact that AC/DC has rarely been guilty of such blatancy.

Most classic bands have been wading through the endless live release/compilation cycle now for decades, but AC/DC seems never to have felt the need to go down that path. While it’s true that this is, in effect, just a CD version of a live DVD that came out 18 months ago, it’s not only the first AC/DC recording of any kind since 2009, it’s also their first live album since Live in 1992. Some bands have released eight live sets in that time.

South American rock and metal fans are perhaps the most rabid and vocal of any in the world, so recording this in Argentina after an absence of about 13 years is the sort of masterstoke one would expect from the world’s pre-eminent hard rock act. The crowd cheers simply everything from the very first moment and the band is, as to be expected, right on the money. You just know it’s going to be that way as AC/DC rolls on through their deep catalogue of rock anthems. “Hell Ain’t a Bad Place to Be” and especially “Shot Down in Flames” are nice additions to the otherwise fairly predictable set list where “Thunderstruck” and four Black Ice tracks are the only concessions to their post-1981 career. Brian Johnston really does seem to be struggling at times but it’s pretty obvious nobody cares. AC/DC delivers the goods as usual, the way their fans know they will. It might not be the most essential addition to anyone’s library, but it’s not exactly a waste either.

CD 1
1.  Rock n Roll Train
2. Hell Ain’t a Bad Place to Be
3. Back in Black
4. Big Jack
5. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
6. Shot Down in Flames
7. Thunderstruck
8. Black Ice
9. The Jack
10. Hell’s Bells

CD 2
1. Shoot to Thrill
2. War Machine
3. Dog Eat Dog
4. You Shook Me All Night Long
5. TNT
6. Whole Lotta Rosie
7. Let There be Rock
8. Highway to Hell
9. For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)