Rock solid all the way through

Considering the level of drama and tragedy surrounding AC/DC over the past near-decade, one could be forgiven for thinking the likelihood of them ever doing another album was vanishingly small.

AC/DC does, however, have a very well proven track record for overcoming adversity in astonishing ways, and by regrouping in tribute to their fallen mastermind, this band has made one of their best albums in many, many years.

Long time victims to their own formula, AC/DC nevertheless sounds genuinely fresh and revitalised on Power Up, and there are even a few tweaks to that hoary old sound here and there. Through the Mists of Time plays with a big arena sound, Brian Johnson drops into a truly welcome gravelly low register in the slow grooving Demon Fire and Systems Down has one of the nastiest riffs they’ve ever done. Of course, surprises aren’t part of AC/DC’s overall mission statement and tracks like Money Shot and Shot in the Dark could have been lifted off anything from The Razors Edge onwards – they’re just better.

Latter day AC/DC albums have too often been weighed down with filler, but with the very real possibility this may be their last shot, they’ve made every moment count. From the opening chord to the ringing notes of Angus’ final solo, Power Up is rock solid all the way through. It’s AC/DC at their best, one last time… maybe.

1. Realize
2. Rejection
3. Shot in the Dark
4. Through The Mists of Time
5. Kick You When You’re Down
6. Witch’s Spell
7. Demon Fire
8. Wild Reputation
9. No Man’s Land
10. Systems Down
11. Money Shot
12. Code Red