An excellent party album

Airbourne are nothing if not consistent.

Breakin’ Outta Hell sees the four piece take the same no ballads, no slow stuff, nothing-but-kickass rock n roll formula they’ve used on every release so far and come up trumps once again. A meaner-sounding production than Black Dog Barking, thanks to the return of Bob Marlette to the producer’s chair, makes the band a heavier and a more honest proposition this time, giving the songs that immediate, ready-to-play-live appeal they pride themselves on.

The title track opens the album with Airbourne’s usual brash and swagger before unleashing ‘Rivalry’, adding a solid, swinging groove and gang vocals. Elsewhere of course there’s plenty of unabashed party rock like ‘Never Too Loud for Me’, ‘It’s All For Rock n Roll’ and the awesomely-named ‘When I Drink I Go Crazy’ that also has one of the highlight guitar solos of the album. The cheeky ‘Down on You’ has something of a classic 50s flavour to it and there are even the faint twangs of country rock buried under the rock out guitars of ‘Thin the Blood’. Admittedly, there are a couple of moments where Joel O’Keeffe’s frenzied wail and roar is in danger of setting teeth on edge but the sheer power of his delivery is amazing.

While the Malcolm Young-style riffs abound, Breakin’ Outta Hell also touches base with other hard-hitting rock legends of the same vintage like Motorhead, W.A.S.P. and even the playfulness of Kiss, with ridiculously tight playing and solos and vocals that are off the hook in places. Once again, Airbourne have created an excellent party album. They haven’t changed a bit, but when you rock this hard and this well, that just isn’t necessary!

1. Breakin’ Outta Hell
2. Rivalry
3. Get Back Up
4. It’s Never Too Loud for Me
5. Thin the Blood
6. I’m Going to Hell for This
7. Down on You
8. Never Been Rocked Like This
9. When I Drink I Go Crazy
10. Do Me Like You Do Yourself
11. It’s All for Rock n Roll