A stellar addition to the great man’s catalogue

After his stunning comeback from the throes of addiction in the mid-80s, Alice Cooper could have retired in a blaze of glory sometime after Hey Stoopid and just spent the last 25 years playing his beloved golf.

The world would have kept turning, but we would have been deprived of some great entertainment from a man who knows precisely what that word means.

Paranormal is a stellar addition to the great man’s catalogue, a wonderfully rocking album that shows the Coop in all his musical guises from garage rocker to metalhead and all points in between. While the late 80s metal albums that proclaimed his return are still among his best known work, they showed a limited side to the man’s talent. Alice Cooper is at his best when he can show off his diversity, and Paranormal does exactly that. The title track opens the album with a bright metal energy that shows there is still plenty of gas in the tank and the rollicking blues of ‘Dead Flies’ proves his wit and sardonic eye are as sharp as ever. ‘Fireball’ is a cracking electro-fuelled number and then the lumbering ‘Paranoiac Personality’ veers into the classic 70s feel  of his first three solo albums. This isn’t just a nod to his past, as Paranormal abounds with the style and atmosphere of his 1970s heyday, never so more obvious than on the opening cuts of the second disc that feature the original Alice Cooper band (minus the lamentably late Glen Buxton) showing that the magic is still there after more than forty years. The same can be said for the live tracks which have been the staple of Coop’s performances since forever – let’s hope a few of Paranormal’s cuts can make the show too.

While the second half of the first CD dips a little (but not much!) until the menacing ‘The Sound of A’ comes along with its strange Pink Floyd vibe, Alice Cooper’s latest album is a sterling release.

CD 1
1. Paranormal
2. Dead Flies
3. Fireball
4. Paranoiac Personality
5. Fallen in Love
6. Dynamite Road
7. Private Public Breakdown
8. Holy Water
9. Rats
10. The Sound of A

CD 2
1. Genuine American Girl
2. You and All of Your Friends
3. No More Mr Nice Guy (live)
4. Under My Wheels (live)
5. Billion Dollar Babies (live)
6. Feed My Frankenstein (live)
7. Only Women Bleed (live)
8. School’s Out (live)

  • Rob

    Sounds good – I look forward to checking it out!