Ablaze with vicious riffs, glorious solos and tight playing

In the early 1990s, the Australian metal scene belonged to Allegiance.

They supported everyone, toured nationally with the Big Day Out and saw their first album released on a major label – albeit through a subsidiary arm.

22 years later, that album has been unleashed on the world again, restored and remastered – and it sounds like it came out yesterday. D.e.s.t.i.t.u.t.i.o.n. simply hasn’t dated at all, and rips from the speakers with the same furious vitality as Allegiance displayed when it was recorded in 1994. While the writing itself is strictly conventional, it’s also taut, and every track oozes with a palpable energy and every one is a killer. It makes choosing a stand-out pretty difficult, as each song matches the quality of the one before it, ablaze with vicious riffs, glorious solos and tight playing emphasised by solid production only enhanced by a brilliant remaster. The only downside is Conrad Higson’s vocals, a kind of one-dimensional gruff bark that doesn’t offer much in the way of variation. The album is so good this can almost be over-looked, but his voice does tend to grate a bit after a while.

Nevertheless, now as it did then, D.e.s.t.i.t.u.t.i.o.n. can easily stand alongside anything any other metal band has put out. This is a classic and important moment in Australia’s musical history.

1. Intro
2. Chaos Dies
3. One Step Beyond
4. Hate Frenzy
5. Torn Between Two Worlds
6. Destitution
7. Morally Justified
8. Path of Lies
9. Dealt the Cruel Hand
10. Downward Spiral
11. Twisted Minds
12. Tranquility