One lethal hardcore metal unit

2014’s Manslaughter was the turning point for Ice T’s metal crew, the point where they stepped up and became a truly menacing and savage unit.

The 2017 follow-up Bloodlust continued the transition as one of the most honestly vicious albums of the year, a violent and brutal masterpiece taking aim at the injustices inflicted on everyday Americas by the powerful, regardless of race. No Lives Matter remains perhaps their most potent political statement.

Carnivore opens with another ferocious rant, Ice T exploding with rage as Ernie C backs him up with solid chunky riffing; Power Trip’s Riley Gale steps into the fray next offering moral support on the raucous Point the Finger and on Another Level Jamey Jasta chimes in with a typically furious performance as Body Count throw angry Hatebreed-style shapes everywhere. A note-perfect version of Ace of Spades loosens things up and lets Ice have the same fun he had with Slayer on the last album and a metalised version of his gangsta rap hit Colors is simply menacing.

Overall, however, Carnivore doesn’t quite achieve the kill count of either Manslaughter or Bloodlust, with When I’m Gone perhaps the strangest inclusion on any of Body Count’s albums, a weirdly out-of-place and unnecessary contribution from Amy Lee making the song’s awkward mawkishness even worse. When they are on point though, Body Count are one lethal hardcore metal band.

  1. Carnivore
  2. Point the Finger
  3. Bum Rush
  4. Ace of Spades
  5. Another Level
  6. Colors – 2020
  7. No Remorse
  8. When I’m Gone
  9. Thee Critical Breakdown
  10. The Hate is Real


  • Rob

    I’ve only listened to it through once so far, but it didn’t have the same impact as the previous two albums did on first listen.