Very much typical of its genre

This may be shocking to some, as apparently everyone knows A Day To Remember, but when I was given this CD to review, it was in fact the first I had ever heard of them.

Not knowing what to expect, I began my first listen to ADTR, and decided to read what others thought of the album, and listen briefly to bits and pieces from their past.

The album opens with “Sticks and Bricks” and until the chorus hits, it sounds like your average metalcore song. Then it takes a turn into what ADTR are, and that is post-hardcore/pop, and for me that’s where it goes downhill. What Separates Me From You is very much typical of its genre. Lyrics filled with standard teenage angst, fast, distorted guitars and heavy, yet boring, drum fills to imitate a metal sound.

What Separates Me From You is the fourth release from ADTR and from what I’ve heard from their back catalogue, it all seems very similar. Screaming verses, melodic choruses and a very similar breakdown. The instrumentation actually isn’t that bad. But the melodic choruses sound less like clean vocals, and more like whinging.

All hope is not lost though. There is one song out of the ten tracks that make up What Separates Me From You that is actually not half bad. “2nd Sucks” opens with the single word “fight” said in an almost demonic voice. From there the guitars kick in with an interesting melody. The majority of the song has screamed vocals and with the effect placed on Jeremy McKinnon’s voice, this makes it bearable. This track offers the more interesting guitar work, and vocals that are not cringeworthy.

This album is definitely targeted at teenagers and fans of The Used, NoFX and My Chemical Romance are sure to enjoy this latest offering from A Day To Remember.

1. Sticks & Bricks
2. All I Want
3. It’s Complicated
4. This is the House That Doubt Built
5. 2nd Sucks
6. Better Off This Way
7. All Signs Point to Lauderdale
8. You be Tails, I’ll be Sonic
9. Out of Time
10. If I Leave