Bog-standard groove metal battering

DevilDriver are back with album number seven and fans need not be left wondering how it will sound.

Trust No One is twelve tracks chock full of ferocious, ten-ton heavy grooves and Dez Fafara’s aggressive growls – and that’s pretty much it. Let’s face it, DevilDriver is one of the most predictable bands around and diversity has never been their strongest suit. This time they seem to care about it less than ever. To be fair, this has some of the most melodic and technical guitar breaks of any of their albums so far and new drummer Austin D’amond throws in a few quirky and off-time beats to help break up an otherwise fairly monotonous set of tracks.

As usual, Fafara barely varies his approach from a gruff roar across the entire album and every track seems to be in almost the same tempo. There’s a trio of songs in the middle of this – the title track, ‘Daybreak’ and ‘Above it All’ where that feeling of sameness is allayed. A very small level of diversity creeps in to Fafara’s vocals and there’s some added melodic flavour from the guitars, but it isn’t really enough to lift Trust No One beyond the level of an average, bog-standard groove metal battering.

1. Testimony of Truth
2. Bad Deeds
3. My Night Sky
4. This Deception
5. Above it All
6. Daybreak
7. Trust No One
8. Feeling Ungodly
9. Retribution
10. For What it’s Worth