Revels in its message, and the uncomfortable listen it can be

Frank Carter has had an interesting career to date, rising to prominence in Gallows in the mid 00s before throwing it all in to play music what was almost pop rock before disappearing completely from view for some time, to essentially collect himself and come to terms with who he felt he was personally and musically.  He then picked up again with guitarist Dean Richardson and The Rattlesnakes, releasing two wildly differing albums previous to this one.

This album continues in the vein of a man trying to find where he is comfortable both in his music and lyrical output, but more importantly where he stands in the chaotic world that surrounds him. Opening on a slow burn when fans expect you to come kicking the door in is becoming this band’s approach as ‘Why A Butterfly Can’t Love a Spider’ just ticks over.  Lyrically, the heartbreak that drives so much of this album is laid bare, building in intensity until it almost breaks around the middle of the track.

Tom Morello crops up on ‘Tyrant Lizard King’ but it doesn’t feel like he adds much beyond stopping it sounding like a track from Frank Carter’s previous band Pure Love.  ‘Heartbreaker’ continues this punk rock/Pure Love vibe with one of the album’s few rockier numbers. It has the perfect stomping beat and some sizzling guitar work to boot, almost driving out all thought of the depressive feel of this album’s lyrics. ‘Crowbar’ is the only really light among the depression and heartbreak . Powered by an underlying synth line with some more great grooves laid over the top, it’s another example of how the Rattlesnakes won’t be tied down musically.

Written by Carter and the band after Richardson saved the vocalist from a suicide attempt, ‘Anxiety’ leaves no question of its authenticity. It lays bare The singer’s struggles with his own mental health are laid bare, and how hard he struggles to hold it together on a daily basis. Tracks like this remind those that feel they are struggling alone that other people in all walks of life fight the same battles.

End of Suffering may leave you a little emotionally drained, but musically unfulfilled if you arrived expecting some high energy punk. It is an album that revels in its message, and the uncomfortable listen it can be. It has been obvious for a long time that a reach towards more mainstream sounds has always been on the books for Frank Carter, and this is some of the heaviest and widest reaching music he has been involved in.

Remember, if you need help, and feel you can’t reach out to a mate, or loved ones, help is always available with community groups such as Head Space, Lifeline (13 11 14) or Beyond Blue (1300 224 636) or a quick search online that will hopefully find a group nearby to you that can help. You are never alone.

  1. Why A Butterfly Can’t Love a Spider
  2. Tyrant Lizard King
  3. Heartbreaker
  4. Crowbar
  5. Love Games
  6. Anxiety
  7. Angel Wings
  8. Supervillain
  9. Latex Dreams
  10. Kitty Sucker
  11. Little Devil
  12. End Of Suffering