Sometimes to be heard you must whisper

Sometimes to be heard you must whisper; another album and another direction for modern English hardcore’s Frank Carter.

Starting out sounding like a far more positive record, Frank and writing partner/Rattlesnakes guitarist Dean Richardson must be in far better personal mindsets than last album ‘Blossom’. With a very quiet opener in ‘Bluebelle’ and leading into the very hard rock/melodic punk of ‘Lullaby’ the album settles in a very familiar, but welcoming formula, think Frank’s ‘Pure Love’ project mixed with a bit more aggression and passion.

Modern Ruin crosses paths with all kinds of modern musical grounds. ‘Wild Flowers’ is very Brit-Pop and ‘Vampires’ sees Frank doing his best Green Day vocal impression in the chorus. The only genuine hardcore tracks to be found are ‘Jackals’ and the title track. Both have the band tearing at their instruments while Carter sounds as mad as he ever has.
That isn’t to say that the album is bad. I really enjoy the fresh approach taken everywhere except ‘Acid Veins’. I cannot put my finger on it, but this song just doesn’t do anything for me.

Stand out has to be protest song ‘Thunder’, on our differences as humans and unwillingness to help the refugees streaming around the world from the Middle East. The last two verses really push the point. It reminds me of when my father was real angry at us kids: he spoke very softly instead of his usual yelling that we ritually ignored. That’s the impression I get from this track. Final track ‘Neon Rust’ is a very hopeful cut about living your dream, whatever that is.

Frank Carter and The Rattlesnakes will likely cop a fair amount of flak because this album is so different to their first one, but that should count for nothing. This album is a beast all its own and deserves your attention.

1. Bluebelle
2. Lullaby
3. Snake Eyes
4. Vampires
5. Wild Flowers
6. Acid Veins
7. God Is My Friend
8. Jackals
9. Thunder
10. Real Life
11. Modern Rust
12. Neon Rust