You’ll need a stiff drink after a run through of this album

Get ready to add another patch to your battle jacket as Irish thrash band Gama Bomb return with their new album, The Terror Tapes.

Filled with speed and laden with lyrical humour and horror, it should bring a smile to all old school thrashers.

Despite vocal surgery in early 2012, singer Philly Byrne has returned to the band in full voice. Utilising less high notes this time, around the ‘new’ Byrne is more refined and the sound is more the better for it.

‘The Wrong Stuff’ starts frenetically as the album opens at break-neck pace. Technically controlled but with a fervour for speed, the landscape is quickly paved for the ensuing metal storm. ‘Legends of Speed’ lives up to its name, while ‘Backwards Bible’ adds folds of interwoven guitar work into the fray. The lyrics are witty and the technical ability of Dixon (lead guitar), Roche (guitar), McGuigan (bass) and the pounding double bass kicks of Caffrey is spell bounding.

Gama Bomb combines that chemistry of comedy and thrash metal seamlessly. ‘Beverly Hills Robocop’ and ‘Smoke The Blow With Willem DaFoe’ will have you in stitches. Highlights come in the form of ‘We Started the Fire’ and ‘Terrorscope’, with some finger bleeding guitar work. Its fast, it’s energetic, you’ll need a stiff drink after a run through of this album.

If you’re fan of Municipal Waste, there’s much to like about this release. Vocalist Byrnes doesn’t posses the strongest of voices but the orchestra of thrash that engulfs the album is enough to even the ledger.

1. The Wrong Stuff
2. Legends of Speed
3. Backwards Bible
4. Beverly Hills Robocop
5. Smoke the Blow with Willem DaFoe
6. We Started the Fire
7. Terrorscope
8. The Cannibals are in the Street
9. Shitting Yourself to Live
10. Matrioshka Brain
11. Metal Idiot
12. Wrecking Ball