High octane thrash

Conformicide starts like so many thrash classics, with a soft acoustic beginning that opens into a funky thick bass line.

At first, vocalist David Sanchez sounds like a junior version of Dave Mustaine, but as ‘F.P.C’ steams forward he quickly becomes a beast all his own. Next track ‘Hang ‘Em High’ is another overtly politically driven track and shows the band’s ferocity. It is like thrash circa 1986 and I like it. ‘Intention To Deceive’ opens with a faux news break, that thick bass courtesy of Nick Schendzielos (Job For A Cowboy) is again the prominent force holding the pace of the song together as much as the percussion.

By now the album has settled into a rather comfortable musical place. While the musicianship is something to be admired, and the songs played with genuine heart and skill (again that slap bass sound), it begins to feel formulaic. Quiet intro piece, great ripping solo in the middle, slower part, then full pace ahead to round out the song. This may make it suddenly sound uninteresting, but the music is different enough and the lyrics biting enough on every track to keep you coming back for more. And who doesn’t like to hum a catchy solo? Pick any song on this album, and try your best not to be humming the solo later in the day. I dare ya!

Conformicide is a politically driven album and while the band do sound like a cross between a Megadeth and Testament particularly when vocalist David Sanchez uses his cleaner register, I don’t think this is a bad thing. It should not turn you off listening to this high octane album of surefire future thrash hits. If the band continues from album to album like they have so far, they are certain to etch themselves into thrash history.

1. F.P.C.
2. Hang ‘em High
3. Dogmaniacal
4. Intention to Deceive
5. Ingsoc
6. Masterplan
7. Peace is in Pieces
8. Claiming Certainty
9. Wake Up
10. Circling the Drain
11. String Break
12. Slaughtered