Taking their craft to a whole new level

Power metal has always been an iffy proposition from my point of view, but there are a few bands around that manage to capture my positive attention. Horizons Edge has been one such band, making an impression with their previous album Heavenly Realms.

They have come a long way since then. Right from the start, it’s clear that on Let the Show Go On, Horizons Edge is a stronger, fiercer and far more mature unit than they were two years ago. Benefitting from more robust production, everything about this album is bigger and better. Decidedly heavier, the guitars are thicker and meatier while they duel with keys that assert an authority of their own in an old school, 70s pomp-rock fashion as they add a deeper dimension to the band’s layered melodic metal style.

Nowhere is the maturity more immediately evident than in the growth of Kat Sproule’s vocals. As she opens up in ‘A New Day Will Dawn’, it’s difficult to believe it’s the same singer. Working with Ralf Scheepers since Heavenly Realms has given her a depth, range and power she could only aspire to before, allowing the whole band to take the heavier direction they now find themselves in. The songwriting is also a step up, both musically and lyrically, another clear progression from the occasionally clunky tracks on earlier outings.

Covers, of course, are always good confidence-indicators, and on Let the Show Go On, Horizons Edge take on Bonnie Tyler’s overwrought belter ‘Holding Out for a Hero’. Giving it the power metal treatment actually does the song some justice considering how overblown the original is, and with her new found vocal power, Sproule can pull it off. It’s a confident take from a band that has really surged, and Let the Show Go On shows them taking their craft to a whole new level.

  1. A New Day Will Dawn
  2. Farewell
  3. Black Hole
  4. Surrender
  5. Let the Show Go On
  6. Use Me
  7. Holding Out for a Hero
  8. Masks
  9. In Your Eyes
  10. Demons
  11. In a Moment
  12. Bring Me Home