Continues their evolution as a band

The genre of power metal can be an odd one at times.

Many associate it with bands that sing about cheesy topics such as demons and dragons that after a while can segue into a state of self parody. However, there is the odd band that is able to transcend the clichés and deliver compositions that have the spirit of power metal without the parody. Enter Kamelot and welcome their latest release Poetry for the Poisoned.

It seems that Kamelot has decided to utilize more of the heavier direction that they teased with on the last few albums and it works. There is a thrash metal storm brewed in “If Tomorrow Came”, “Seal of Broken Years” and “Once Upon a Time” — all forums for Thomas Youngblood’s riffage and Casey Grillo’s drum techniques — and the dark and doomy “Necropolis” and “Hunter’s Season”.

However, the band don’t forget the dedicated Kamelot legions. They deliver some miniature opuses with a high level of grandeur such as “The Zodiac” that showcases frontman Roy Khan delivering one of his best performances, the hauntingly beautiful power ballad/duet “House On A Hill”, featuring Epica’s Simone Simons, and the four-part title track that has a little bit of every element throughout the album.

Some have suggested that Kamelot had lost their way and were heading into a downward spiral of mediocrity after their last few releases. With Poetry for the Poisoned, they are heading back into the right direction, one that satisfies their existing fan base, creates new ones and, importantly, continues their evolution as a band.

  1. The Great Pandemoniun
  2. If Tomorrow Comes
  3. Dear Editor
  4. The Zodiac
  5. Hunter’s Season
  6. House on a Hill
  7. Necropolis
  8. My Train of Thoughts
  9. Seal of Woven Years
  10. Poetry for the Poisoned
  11. Once Upon a Time