A barrage of trademark riffs, groove and straight forward death metal

In a world where the definition of metal can be described or perceived in more ways than you can count or even fathom, it’s refreshing to see an established band stick to their guns and stay true to what they are. Kataklysm are just that, and Meditations is their thirteenth (!) studio album.

‘Guillotine’ opens proceedings and slices right through with precise and technical riffage, blasting, and Maurizio Iacono’s brutal vocal attack. ‘Outsider’, ‘Born to Kill And Destined To Die’ and ‘And Then I Saw Blood’ are jampacked with Kataklysm’s signature subversive and pulverising groove. ‘Narcissist’, ‘Bend the Arc, Cut the Cord’ and album closer ‘Achilles Heel’ have a somewhat cinematic feeling of atmosphere and grandeur, ‘The Last Breath I’ll Take Is Yours’ delivers some polyrhythmic twists, shifts and time changes underpinned with melodic lines throughouit and ‘In Limbic Resonance’ brings the speed and hyperblasts at full throttle.

With Meditations, Kataklysm shows once again why they have lasted throughout all the genre shifts, trends and bands that have come and gone. They aren’t reinventing the wheel by any means, but at this stage of their career, they don’t need to or prove themselves to anyone for that matter – they deliver a barrage of their trademark riffs, groove and straight forward death metal. It’s Kataklysm, plain and simple.

  1. Guillotine
  2. Outsider
  3. The Last Breath I’ll Take is Yours
  4. Narcissist
  5. Born to Kill and Destined to Die
  6. In Limbic Resonance
  7. And Then I Saw Blood
  8. What Doesn’t Break Doesn’t Heal
  9. Bend the Arc, Cut the Cord
  10. Achilles Heel