The sound of a band with renewed vision

King 810 are still an interesting musical concern.

Their lyrical tough guy swagger and story telling ability of vocalist David Gunn demand the listener either pay attention or skip to the next thing on the playlist. After the hit and miss and affair of their last full length release, many were left wondering what we might be in store this time. Something interesting, if nothing else.

Quickly building up tension, the immediate impression is that despite the dopey lyrical concept and rip off from Disturbed’s monkey grunts (you know the ones) album opener AK Concerto No. 47 is a musically heavier affair than the band has attempted in some time. Creating stories for the listener is a subtle art and David Gunn’s delivery is on top form as he drops the rap swagger in favour of letting the story take you where it needs too.

Red Queen continues the dystopian story telling with a commitment to an industrial undercurrent that by the end of the track has settled into the musical formula for the album. This isn’t a bad thing, as the heavier music manages to bury some of the sillier lyrical moments that this group have always been guilty of letting through for nothing more than shock factor.
Arguably the best album the band has managed to release was second release La Petite Morte and in the middle of this album King 810 settle back into the more subtle story telling removed from the bravado that was found resting in the centre of that album as well. Love Under Will and the oddly titled Da Vinci Hands Pinocchio Nose pulsate with a deft industrial energy and focus that they rarely struggle to reign in enough to prove that they are really worth the average listener’s time.

This sense of focus tightens more on Dukes and suddenly I am thinking this may be the best album that this band has assembled. Not too bad considering I put my headphones on whilst adjusting a negative attitude based on their ability to miss more than hit.

And on that theme, King 810 continue to surprise as the album rounds out, from the country heavy opening of House of Dust to album closer 2A, as it plays out like a love song to Rob Zombie and his schlock horror films.

This is the sound of a band with renewed vision as well as an eye toward a musical attention to detail that up until this point they have only ever pointed towards though refused to invest any talent in beyond the singles that have been released.

1. AK Concerto No. 47
2. Red Queen
3. I Am the Enemy
4. Hellhounds
5. Love Under Will
6. Da Vinci Hands Pinocchio Nose
7. Dukes
8. House of Dust
9. Love Bomb
10. Suicide Machines
11. 2A