Will sure annoy the shit out of your neighbours

One can only assume the debut album title from Perth punk trio Leeches refers to the city they inhabit.

Whilst Dullsville is probably an apt title for the town over the previous decade, the music scene, like the city, has been turning heads in recent years thanks to an influx of artists in the punk and metal genres.

Rip off a band aid protecting an infested wound and you pretty much have the Leeches mantra. This is a tad under 13 minutes long so calling it an album is perhaps a stretch, however in that time you get hit with ten songs that mash your face into the sidewalk. Crude, abrupt and raw the band, has delivered a debut that harks back to the punk era of the late 70s to early 80s. The band even managed to rope in Ray Ahn of Hard Ons fame to illustrate the impressive album cover.

‘Wilding Street’ sets the scene early, an angry ode to a quiet little street in the western suburb of Doubleview. The music here is relentless, it’s not pretty, it’s not refined computerised guitars, its brutal punk and the trio wouldn’t have it any other way. Benny Ward leads the vocals and guitar work impressively, never more so than on ‘Regret’ and ‘Rags’. There’s melody in there but it’s frenetic and abstract. Towering bassist Glenny Salter slaps the strings with venom and the backdrop provided by drummer Leeroy is animalistic.

If skate punk is your thing and you don’t mind a bit of repetitive lyrics within 60 second songs then this is your album. It won’t win album of the year but it will sure annoy the shit out of your neighbours and the lads have delivered a nice slab or, rather, a nice paver of punk that would kick start any night out on the town.

1. Wilding Street
2. Choking
3. Cracked and Broken
4. Regret
5. Drain
6. Rags
7. Creep
8. Junkie
9. What?
10. Media Frenzy