A band cleaning the vault of hard to find music isn’t an unusual thing these days. This two-disc collection spans tracks released on various ‘special edition’ albums as bonus tracks and split EPs from 2004-2016.

In typical Napalm Death fashion it is a complete no-holds-barred affair with even the covers that are on display an unholy racket, just the way the fans love it. The first disc is mainly album tracks that did or didn’t make a release depending where in the world you got your copy of anything released since The Code Is Red…  Most Australian fans will have heard what is on display here with the possible exception of opener ‘Standardization’ and ‘Critical Gluttonous Mass’ as they have been LP and cassette only tracks previously.

All the good stuff is buried deeper, with the second disc holding all the gold for this listener’s ear. So much of what is here is music that has been hidden on split EPs only released in the last 5 or 6 years, and as such has the same ferocity that the band has been oozing for the last decade, s till pissed off and highly socially aware. One listen to ‘Like Piss to a Sting’ or the explosive ‘Will By Mouth’ will remind you why this band has always been at the forefront of the grind madness that they helped create so long ago.

It could be argued that this is a mere cash grab by a band who so many hold to a much higher regard, something that vocalist Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway attempts to tackle in the opening liner notes suggesting that it is music that the band couldn’t stand to see wasted away without a proper listening. And the fact that bassist Shane Embury pored over the tracklisting hopefully suggests that the band really did take care in the creation of this project.

It is certainly a not a ‘fan only’ project of b-sides and stuff that should never have been released. More like a great starting point for fans that may not have dove head on into all the chaos that can be Napalm Death at their best, as well as a subtle supplement for those of us fans that do not want to wait until 2019 for an album of completely fresh new material. Enjoy uncomfortably indeed…

Disc 1.

  1. Standardization
  2. Oh So Pseudo
  3. It Failed to Explode
  4. Losers
  5. Call That an Option?
  6. Caste as Waste
  7. We Hunt in Packs
  8. Oxygen of Duplicity
  9. Paracide (GEPOPEL)
  10. Critical Gluttonous Mass
  11. Aim Without an Aim
  12. An Extract (Strip It Clean)
  13. Phonetics for the Stupefied
  14. Suppressed Hunger
  15. To Go Off and Things (CARDIACS)

Disc 2.

  1. Clouds Of Cancer/Victims Of Ignorance (G-ANX)
  2. What Is Past is Prologue
  3. Like Piss to a Sting
  4. Where the Barren is Fertile
  5. Crash The Pose (GAUZE)
  6. Earthwire
  7. Will By Mouth
  8. Everything in Mono
  9. Omnipresent Knife in Your Back
  10. Lifeline (SACRILEGE)
  11. Youth Offender
  12. No Impediment to Triumph (Bhopal)
  13. Legacy Was Yesterday
  14. Outconditioned (DESPAIR)
  15. Atheist Runt
  16. Weltschmerz