A dynamic and eclectic release

Since 2003, Melbourne’s Ne Oblivisicaris have set themselves apart with a vast and eclectic musical style that includes extreme, black and progressive metal with various other influences.

This has made them unique and gained them quite a fanbase at home and abroad. The 2007 demo whet the appetite and won some acclaim and since then the band has worked on a full length release. Various bumps in the road have long delayed this until now, and Ne Obliviscaris have finally unleashed the highly anticipated Portal of I.

Album opener “Tapestry of the Starless Abstract” erupts with a black metal barrage driven by tremolo guitars and blast beats only to shift gear into a progressive metal passage that calls Blackwater Park to mind, with the black metal vibe continuing throughout. “As Icicles Fall” and “Forget Not” are quite melodically minded and the latter is especially propelled by Tim Charles’ weaving violin lines. His Devin Townsend-like clean vocals contrast well with Xenoyr’s growls. “Xenoflux” shares the Opethian feel of the opener, only a lot heavier and with a folk metal twist. “Of the Leper Butterflies” utilizes some fusion elements and acoustic guitars, “And Plague Flowers the Kaleidoscope” covers a bit of everything on the album and showcases Matt Klavin and Benjamin Baret’s guitar work. “Of Petrichor Weaves Black Noise” is a haunting journey into a musical psyche to close off proceedings.

Some of the instrumental sections, breaks and ambient passages can be a little bit long-winded. Understandably, the music is of a progressive nature and no doubt some of the parts are beneficial, an yet some could have benefited by being trimmed down a tad. In terms of production, there are no faults. Every instrument sits alongside each other in a level playing field and Jens Bogren’s  (Opeth, Katatonia) mix only enhances this.

After a vast amount of time and many obstacles, many were unsure how things were going to turn out for Ne Obliviscaris. Portal of I should allay some of those fears with a dynamic and eclectic release that cements their position in the music world.

1. Tapestry of the Starless Abstract
2. Xenoflux
3. Of the Leper Butterflies
4. Forget Not
5. And Plague Flowers the Kaleidoscope
6. As Icicles Fall
7. Of Petrichor Weaves Black Noise