Sure to make fans grin with excitement

One of the fastest songs I can remember Obituary doing, ‘Brave’, is a very solid opener for this latest album, with a classic short solo in the middle. Next track ‘Sentence Day’ follows a similar pattern, a great dirty riff and a couple of solos thrown in for good measure.

Such a quick one-two punch opening set shows a band that is not willing to rest on their laurels and let their ‘classic’ status carry them through, much like their last album. Obituary wants to remind you why they have been held in such high regard for as long as they have.

‘A Lesson in Vengeance’ is the band bringing back the heavy southern rock stomp to their classic take on death metal.  Lead guitarist Kenny Andrews has really studied the ‘classic’ play book and every solo could have come from the late 80s – early 90s, really helping this album sound refreshing. Check out the solo in ‘End It Now’ for some of the best evidence of this.

On the whole Obituary sound really refreshed and settled into a sound that they and their fans really know and enjoy. Some of their post-hiatus output has been hit and miss, but last album Inked in Blood saw the beginning of a turnaround in quality (not that the quality has been THAT bad) and shorter, punchier songs while maintaining the signature Obituary groove. They break the pace up in the middle of the album with groovier tracks ‘It Lives’ and ‘Betrayed’, the former with a very catchy almost hard rock riff driving it along.

You usually know what you are going to get from Obituary, and that is a good thing in this instance. Those people with a negative opinion on the band’s Southern/groove approach to their style of death metal won’t have their opinions challenged, but it is sure to make fans new and old grin with excitement.

1. Brave
2. Sentence Day
3. A Lesson In Vengeance
4. End It Now
5. Kneel Before Me
6. It Lives
7. Betrayed
8. Turned To Stone
9. Straight To Hell
10. Ten Thousand Ways To Die