A powerful and confident classic HC combo

When an entire album’s running time is only slighter longer than your average Dream Theater epic, you know there isn’t going to be a lot of mucking around.

Off! lays down 16 tracks in 23 minutes with the subtlety of a hand grenade, a frenzied assault of raw hardcore destroying everything around it. Wasted Years is a furious blur of Dimitri Coats’ ferocious guitar onslaught and the straight up simple attack of Steven McDonald and Mario Rubalcaba’s rhythm section that is beautiful in its brutally. Then of course there’s Keith Morris delivering a deliciously deranged vocal performance, shouting and spitting articulate rage with the energy and spite of a man a third his age. Morris hasn’t unleashed the aggression to this level since his Circle Jerks heyday in the 1980s. Given how old they all are, Off! could have quite easily been dismissed early as a nostalgia act, but Wasted Years is the proof if any was needed that this is a powerful and confident classic HC combo that hit with the power of a locomotive. There is venom in every moment, a howling, raging frenetic pummelling that lands every blow as Morris and crew smash ivory towers to dust.

1. Void You Out
2. Red White and Black
3. Legion of Evil
4. No Easy Escape
5. Over Our Heads
6. Hypnotized
7. It Didn’t Matter to Me
8. Exorcised
9. Death Trip on the Party Train
10. I Won’t be a Casualty
11. All I Can Grab
12. Time’s Not on Your Side
13. Meet Your God
14. Mr Useless
15. You Must be Damned
16. Wasted Years