Less of a bang and more of a meh

Superheist has a long and storied history in the Aussie music scene, having been around since the early 90s. As such, even through different guises and a hiatus, they are one of the few that have always just been there.

This new album MMXX was originally slated for a release early in 2021, but as usual things got in the way and delayed it until now. If you’ve never heard of them until now, they can be a strange beast to nail down, having started life as one thing before growing into a different animal altogether.

MMXX is constructed from all facets of music Superheist has released throughout the years, from the nu-metal rap/stomp of A History of Violence or The Crow to the heavier end of the spectrum found on the opening set of Last Chance to Leave and Medicated. Overall though, this album just plays through with less of a bang and more of a “meh”.

It’s difficult to pin down exactly what is missing, but whatever it is, it’s missing in large chunks. Since their latest comeback in 2016, the Heist have tried to simultaneously evolve and stick to the nu-metal formulas that found them success. With some swagger in tow there is a certain energy and bounce that keeps the listener interested, and the music as more than a backing track to whatever else is going on. There just isn’t the same level of energy writ large across the album as a whole. I found my attention wandering elsewhere as MMXX just all melded into one uninteresting mess into the middle of the album.

No doubt, if you are a fan of dw Norton and his Superheist catalogue you will dig deep trying to find the greatness. As a fan in the late 90s, I would love to re-capture whatever feelings that gave me as well. It’s almost achieved on Oblivion. Beyond that, it isn’t really to be found on MMXX.

1. Last Chance to Leave
2. Medicated
3. Destination Unknown
4. A History of Violence
5. Mayhem
6. The Great Divide
7. The Crow
8. Every Waking Moment
9. Live For This
10. No Surrender
11. Disintegration
12. Oblivion

  • Lance Action

    Never get high on your own supply.

    This album is amazing, from the 1-2 punch of the openers like you said, to the middle A History Of Violence / Mayhem / Every Waking Moment, to the double punch closure of Disintegration and Oblivion, this is an excellent addition to their catalogue and a worthy front runner for their best career offering so far.

    I’d suggest sitting with it some more, love with it, absorb it. I found it instantly captivating but perhaps for you it’s a grower. I’d ask you give it another go, because the general consensus online is overwhelmingly positive.