Generic deathcore band makes more generic deathcore

Starting out interestingly enough, with a Spanish guitar opening the album, I thought one of the more generic representatives of the deathcore style may have finally picked up one or two tricks to differentiate themselves from the crowd.

How wrong was I?

While the guitar is a welcome change, rearing its acoustic goodness once or twice again, the lyrics… the woeful juvenile lyrics.

I would rather not punish you with what I am forcing myself to listen to, musically the band are great. But I have never been one to listen to ‘party’ metal and the opening track is an ode to getting on the booze with people you don’t know. After opener ‘ ‘Til The Break Of Dawn’ the music gets heavier, but the lyrics maintain a sense of false rage, and the juvenile lyrics are throughout. See ‘Already Broken’ ‘You Don’t Own Me’ and ‘B.M.F. (Bad Mother Fucker)’ ‘D.T.A. (Don’t Trust Anyone)’ for evidence of this.

I have enjoyed this band in the past, but it feels as if UABB has run out of anything of quality to say, with the exception of the title track with its early Pantera/Hellyeah vibe of unity and a bit of clean singing to keep it interesting and the HxC kid in me loves the positive message in ‘The Outcast’ with its refrain of hope for the lost kids.

Not without its musical merit, these songs are all genuine mosh pit anthems with big breakdowns all over the place. I try and believe that all music has its place somewhere in the grand scheme of heavy, and this is the sort of thing I would expect to hear my son playing to his mates who haven’t yet been introduced to some of the great quality heavy music around. More of a ‘gateway’ band if you will, playing to the angsty teenage kids who will appreciate the lyrical approach of this album.
Maybe I should take the advice of vocalist Danny Leal on ‘You Don’t Own Me’ and shut my mouth, but where would the fun be in that?

1. ‘Til The Break Of Dawn
2. Already Broken
3. You Don’t Own Me
4. Media Blackout
5. B.M.F
6. Straight From The Barrio (210)
7. Leave The Pain Behind
8. Walk Alone Again
9. Fake Plastic Smile
10. D.T.A. (Don’t Trust Anyone)
11. The Outcast
12. My Distorted Reflection